Response to: “On the Record, All the Time”

Lifelogging seems pretty pointless. People already constantly share their lives through the internet by posting pictures, videos, etc. I can see why unexpected once-in-a-lifetime moments would be a beneficial outcome of lifelogging, but it seems pretty grueling to document your entire life in order to have these moments on video/audio. Right now, people share a filtered version of their lives through the internet. They only show what they want to show, or tell stories they want to tell. They conceal certian aspects of their lives on purpose.  I think people would always be inhibited if they knew they were on camera 24/7.  The constant feeling that someone is watching makes a person pehave differently.  Even though reality shows are now extremely popular, this is not a form of real life-logging.  People sign up for those shows because they seek some small amount of fame. They also sign up with the knowledge that the show doesn’t last their entire lives.  So they will behave in a manner that will promote their television personality in the way they want the public eye to see them.

As a side note: Looking at the timeline, I was surprised to realize YouTube only appeared 3 years ago. It seems like it has been around forever.

Response to: “…The Tethered Self”

We live in a technologically tethered world–at least us East/West Coasters do.  Bluetooths are a step away from human nature and a step toward the merging of humans and technology.  I hate all things blue tooth.  I hate the way people look with them, talk with them, walk with them, drive with them, bathe with them…  I hate that I don’t know if a person is talking to me or to the person on their bluetooth.  I hate that it makes the line between a crazy person and a businessman extremely blurry.  I’ve never hated a piece of technology more.  Nothing is more rude to me than having your phone, at the ready, stuck in your ear, as if any sort of other outside world engagement is a distraction to an incoming call.  People really have turned into cyborgs with bluetooths.  They have essentially decided that their phone needs to be an extension of their face.  Normal cell phones are enough of a convenience for me.  I hope I never feel the need to attach a phone to my face.

Also, I kind of hate iPhones and Blackberrys.  A couple of my friends seem constantly immersed in their phone, rather than engaged in the world around them.  I was with someone this weekend who has an iPhone, and she was constantly on it to the point where I wasn’t sure if I could interrupt her when she was surfing the web.  Granted, we were Production Assistants on a shoot, and it became awesomely handy when she used it to find directions to places in an unfamiliar area or to look up pizza places in the area.  I’m not sure if having constant web access is such a great thing, though.  I would rather talk about subjects rather than looking things up on Wikipedia and knowing answers right away.  There’s something more appealing about mystery and letting the human mind work for the answer.

Response to: “You Are a Cyborg”

I love movies/TV shows that deal with cyborgs.  It’s appealing to think about how something man-made can function without a human working it. There’s always a fascination about cyborgs ultimately turning on their human creators, too (Battlestar Galactica, anyone?).

I think that developers keep striving to create more efficient cyborg technology because they feel it is the ultimate efficiency. Much like any machine (washing machine, electric oven, vacuum cleaner, etc) was made to make the human life easier and more efficient, a completely human-type cyborg would feel like complete success–A servant without consciousness, which leaves humans guilt-free.  What could be better?

If a cyborg had consciousness and the ability to love, then this would open up a whole new topic of discussion, about whether they should be treated as robots or as humans, what rights they would have as robots, etc, etc.  This thought is complete science fiction and would never happen.  A cyborg might be able to simulate love, but it would never actually have a conscious feeling of self, morality, and love.

