Response to: “Metaforas: Curcuit”

We are living in the age of information, where many have immediate access to information via the internet.  I agree that this sharing of information is the “superstructure of our culture”.  It is interesting to bring up that this can be both creative and destructive.  It becomes hard to delegate what perpetuates the development of networking and what affects networking negatively when the line between moralities isn’t even completely defined (such as the struggle to define intellectual property rights of digital media).  When we think of it in terms of ownership, the internet is a place where many can create, own and distribute digital music/art, but it becomes hard to control ownership when there are so many way to steal and duplicate digital property.  And since many are so easily able to connect and distribute, it definitely blurs the line between high and low art when we have equal access to both.  However, this networking allows for any artist to reach countless others, if so inspired.

The idea of network power struggle should also touch on the issue of network neutrality, which is the guiding principle that preserves the free and open internet.  It is important to maintain a free and open internet so that all people have equal network access.

Question:  In what ways do you feel the internet mirrors our culture?

Response to: “Metaforas: World Brain” & sub-categories

I like what this section brought up, such as the fact that “the networked organism is constantly moving”.  As we are all contributors to the “world brain”, we obviously know that  we can’t believe everything we see.  Just as we trust certain humans as reliable knowledge providers, we trust certain websites to provide us with accuracy.  It is our duty as users of the “world brain” to both contribute and filter through the library of information that is presented, but we must also allow for contradictory information.

I’d like to bring up that in the middle of this blog, my “j” key fell off.  I immediately googled an assortment of phrases that might lead me to the solution of fixing it.  I found many different forums where people contributed knowledge that helped them with this same inconvenience, and yet, none of these solutions worked.  I find it useful that I am able to immediately have access to this information, but it is apparent that though many people have knowledge to share, their answers may not be the specific solution to my problem.  In my trial/error attempts to fix my “j” key, I find that in relation to my problem, not everyone has the best answer, and therefore I am learning that not everything/everyone on the internet is trustworthy as an informant.  I guess I will have to venture into the real world and consult the Apple “geniuses” for them to replace my one lousy key…Unless someone in the class has a suggestion?  Haha.

Question 1:  Describe an instance where the internet has helped you.

Question 2: What do you consider a collection when you think about the network as a display case?  Do you have any sort of collection that is displayed online?

Response to: “Here I am Taking My Own Picture”

The comparison Myspace self-portraits and private mirror poses is dead-on.  In the same way that Myspace profiles are selective representations of one’s actual self, Myspace self-portraits enable people to provide a selective representation of what they see in the mirror, selecting only the best shots that they feel effectively represent their online persona.  With computers and programs like Photoshop, images can be easily manipulated, instantly glamorizing the selected self-portrait.  Like Dr. Montgomery said in the article, it has become a process of teenage self-discovery.

When reading this article, I remembered seeing a device on Urban Outfitters that I found hilarious.  First of all, Urban Outfitters strives to represent the young and hip urban culture, so I found it fitting that this item was on this website when I first saw it.

Urban Outfitter's self-portrait arm

Urban Outfitter's self-portrait arm

The self-portrait arm allows a person to take an easier self-portrait, solving the awkwardness of holding a camera at arm’s length.  The article talked about how the one teenager didn’t want other people to know that her Myspace pictures were self-portraits, so she avoided arm placement in the photo.  If inconspicuous self-portraiture is a trend, then it is fitting that such a device would be available on Urban Outfitters.  What is also interesting is that when I went to find this item on Urban Outfitters to post on this blog, the item was no longer available.  Though it seems like such an object would gain popularity, perhaps it’s a little too unnecessary and excessive.

Question:  Do you think Myspace is an effective form of self-expression?

